Turkish Salaam!

24 Dec

New Years = New Life?

Don’t mind if I do.

I’m less than a week away from moving, far-far away, from all my family and friends; to explore a new world, a new language, and a new lifestyle! 🙂 What words can I use to elaborate on how I feel? Well, I don’t think there is words.

But, let me try…..

When I started packing my apartment.. At first, it was an indifferent feeling… But the more and more stuff I packed up–the more I thought about how much I have accumulated from just June.. (On a semi-UN-related side note, I solemnly vow to never acquire so much “[in]valuables” again, I just stumbled upon random knick-knacks that I thought would be useful; but I never seemed to find use or good use for most everything..) It also made me think… That I have a lot of life in such a little space.. Maybe I’m just a hoarder, who knows… But it got me thinking; I’m going to have to pack my life into 3 bags. Three bags. How do I chose what’s most important to me? I want to bring everything, I want it all.. I can’t bring my old life in hopes of starting a new life. Then again, why do I want to throw away my old life; it was a good life. Sure, I had my ups and downs; but overall I loved most every minute of it. Soon it’ll be gone.. Gone, forever? Or just gone for the next year or two. Maybe I’ll move on, start a new life.. Forget about all the things I left behind in the USA.

Okay, okay.. I get it, you all think it’s like a Pier1 floor lamp, a pink princess broom, and a couple souvenir t-shirts. Maybe, physically. That’s what’s being left behind, I think it’s more of a mental and emotional game, really.

What should I expect? I’m moving to a place where I don’t know the language or any people. And I’ll be light years away from all of my family.

I’m excited though.. Mixed emotions. Sigh…

Merry [Insert Your Celebrated Holiday Here] !

Leave a comment